Skip navigation

Expedition One, also know as the expedition that vanished.

So, my first encounter with Dwarf Fortress was very exciting. I can’t really put to words why I like this game, and am terribly excited about starting to play it again. Because my first expedition failed. But there is something about this game that’s just wonderful.

So, beginning my first game without using tutorials went something like this:

In the beginning there was nothing. Then I clicked create new world.

After I did the world begun. First there was no stuff in the world. But then land was generated. And oceans, rivers, forests and deserts. Time passed and people were generated into the world. Human settlements of varying sizes with roads and stuff. In the year 252 the world generator had killed of 13114 people. And there had also been a lot of events. I’m guessing there’d been a lot of prophecies and make-believe stuff. As is wont to happen in the early days of civilization.

In the year 601 there were quite a lot of historic figures living. There were a lot of dead ones too. Humans seemed to have settled many of the islands. Those goddamned humans. I wonder how my dwarves will deal with their kind. Eventually DF had generated my world. And I think it’s time to clarify here. Dwarf Fortress creates a unique world. Each generated world has its own lore and history. Every world you create for your DF game will be different. Different gods. Different settlements. Different historic grudges. Everything is going to be unique. If you don’t think that’s cool.. You should probably stay in school.

After my world was created, and I saw that it was good. I started my first expedition. Seven brave dwarven settlers were to go out into the unknown and lay the first ramparts to the great Dwarven Fortress.

It was going to be great.  Seven dwarves. Like in the fairy tale yeah? Well, if the fairy tale had a donkey in it. There were seven dwarves and a donkey.

My seven dwarves(and the donkey) started out by their cart. And this is where the game begins. For about an hour I tried pressing various buttons. Trying to figure out how to do stuff and failing miserably at it. At some point I pressed a button changed my view down one step. Leading me into the ground. After some time I gave up and abandoned the game. I had at the beginning of the expedition also managed to miss out on assigning points to all the dwarves. So it was a failure from the get-go. Seven unskilled dwarven peasants were not gonna do any good. So it was time for a do over.

And so, seven dwarves and a donkey are lost to history. But seven new ones and a dog are on a journey to start an outpost somewhere else. We will see if they succeed.

Edit 1: As you might notice I’m using a hot sprite-set for the game. Yeah, those are some delicious graphics.

Leave a Reply

